Mmmmm! Humulus lupulus. Hops. I love them. They grow easily, they smell great, they are attractive without being showy, and they are great additions to beer! Not just beer, actually, but they can also be used for other things, but we won’t talk about that today. I just wanted to share this picture…Bag of Hops

This is a bag of Glacier hops from the 2013 harvest season.

Glacier is one of my favorite hops of all time, right next to Saaz, Mt. Hood, and Fuggle. I enjoy Glacier most in clean lagers, blond to amber ales and also nut-browns. But they are so versatile that I don’t think there’s a brew I wouldn’t use them in. Which is why I decided I needed to plant them in my yard. The original rhizome will be in my dirt for the past 4 years next month and I haven’t been happier about a single plant on the property. It has consistently given me about a pound and a half of hop cones (dried) and they have, respectably, kept well! This last year I had used a food dehydrator, otherwise I had been using my oven at a low temp, for only a few minutes, with the door propped open to allow for air flow, then allowed to cool before bagging and freezing. I would agree with the commercial information available regarding the stats and descriptions of the flavor and aroma. Most of all, though, this is my first hop plant and will always remain my first hop plant, so I am a little biased towards it. Even so, you can’t argue with a full bag of hops…

~B

Leave a Reply

