Hello World!

Well, here I am! I never expected myself to be blogging about anything, usually due to time restrictions, but here I am. And it’s all thanks to a challenging life event…or is that a life challenging event? I guess it doesn’t matter how you look at it anymore, what’s happened in the past is in the past and we have tomorrow to look forward to, to move on with, to continue (or start!) pursuing our dreams. Of course some things that happened in the past can force us to either observe our future more closely or change the way our future is handled and planned. Either way, I have a future to work with to create my past which is what everyone eventually talks about anyway, right?

Oh yeah, the life challenging event….

   So there I am in the middle of the intersection just feet from my house on my way to get groceries at the local supercenter, 10:33 pm, 15 degrees Fahrenheit cold, late december, in Wisconsin. Yes, there is snow. Lot’s of it. So much of the fluffy stuff from the day before that I couldn’t see past the mountains of it obscuring my view of traffic in the lane I would be crossing as I was going to make a left hand turn. Well, I planned to make a left hand turn. Instead I would find myself being hit in the front panel and bumper of my car by a younger and less attentive driver than myself. What irks me is that I stopped at the line, creeped slowly so I could see past the dunes of snow banked by the city, had my cell phone in my pocket, my seat belt on and my hands at “10 and 2”. Safest possible, right? Irony has a way of finding you when you least expect it. Had I stopped to send a txt at the stop sign I would have made it through the night. But here I am, alive with only a bump on my head to show for it.

I took a moment to thank God for being able to walk away with out having to go to the hospital and worrying about how I’d pay for the medical expenses.

   I guess it’s not that challenging until you realize I have no money, no job, a child support payment, bills that I can’t pay and the realization that time is of the essence. Ok, now it’s a challenge. It’s funny, but in the weirdest situations do some of my fave quotes pop up in my head. Like this one from Christopher Walken:

“No, improvising is wonderful. But, the thing is that you cannot improvise unless you know exactly what you’re doing.”

So that’s what I’m going to do. Improvise. And I know exactly what I’m doing…I think. So we’ll call this blog my improvisation. In fact, why don’t I ad lib about a lot of things at once? I think I’ll do that! Things like:

  • Homebrewing beer
  • Dungeons and Dragons (4th ed.)
  • DIY home repair
  • Video games
  • 1980’s Suzuki motorcycle repair and maintenance
  • Owning 4 Cats
  • Being a daddy
  • My battle with rejection and self-doubt
  • Cooking and Baking
  • Recording music with local musicians
  • Etc…

If I’m going to blog about stuff why not share some of my passions and skills with you and hopefully also a little knowledge so that maybe we can both be more informed and as we now know you can’t improvise unless you know exactly what you’re doing.

~B

Leave a Reply

